Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre(s): Dystopian, Young Adult

Publication Date: Published April 24th 2012 by HarperTeen

Pages: 336 (hardcover) 

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ / 3 hearts

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Goodreads Summary

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


My Thoughts 

I had a lot of fun reading this book however i would not say it is one of my favourites. There were a wide range of review for this book, some really love it and some absolutely hated it. I on the other hand was somewhere at the mid range, I did not love it a lot but i did enjoy the process while reading this book.

I took about a month to complete this book although a lot of people have said that this is a very fast paced series and you just fly through all of it. I even know people who finished the entire series in 5 days. However for me, there were certain parts that were not as exciting and it made me put it down and picking up other books first.

This is my first book by Kiera Cass and i actually have very high expectations due to some of my favourite reviewers enjoying it a lot. I must say i am a bit disappointed but i will still continue on with the series just not buying the physical copy but as a ebook format.

The writing was amateur i must admit but hopefully it does get better as the series goes on. It was kind of like telling what is happening and not showing which is always a minus sign.

The plot was the only thing that kept me going throughout the entire book, it was really interesting at certain parts especially when the girls were having interviews and of course in a castle. However, it does get boring at certain part but you just have to push through a bit and something will grab your attention again.

I did not feel for the characters at all and i think like most people, i feel that the characters was not in depth enough and not enough characteristics for each and every single one of them. They all feel like the same people. I did not like America, she seem really stupid at times. Also, one thing i did not like about this book was the character names. There were just too many to remember.

Overall, i will recommend this if you like reading about royalty life? (that is something i really enjoy) also, don’t go into this book with high expectations and you will be fine.

“I hope you find someone you can’t live without.I really do. And I hope you never have to know what it’s like to have to try and live without them.”
― Kiera Cass, The Selection

xoxo,

cleo ❤

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    Great review. I think I gave it a similar rating. I found it an easy and quick enough read but there was nothing fantastically great about it and America definitely makes my list of most annoying literary characters ever 🙂

    I’ve actually finished the whole series and in my opinion it goes downhill before it gets better again. I was ready to give up mid way through the second book but someone persuaded me to keep going.

    Like

  2. Melanie Noell Bernard says:

    I have to agree with you (even though it’s been a while since I read these). The books weren’t anything spectacular and honestly, the world-building was lacking in my opinion and the characters didn’t have enough defining traits. Though, I did read the whole trilogy. But that’s more so because I hate not finishing a series. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. manuscreech says:

    I honestly agree but something about it made me continue on with the series and there were character developments i’ve been waiting for so long and the plot line got a lil twitsy in the next books. The series isn’t the best out there but for just a light read or even skimming at the very least, it does just fine 🙂

    Like

  4. Shealea says:

    I have a similar opinion regarding this book! I neither loved it nor hated it — although America definitely frustrated me and she isn’t my favorite character. Despite the simplistic writing style, the book gradually grew on me and I guess that was the push I needed to continue the series.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

