Blog Tour: Memories of Ash

MoATour

MoA Cover

Title: Memories of Ash

Series: The Sunbolt Chronicles, Book Two

Author: Intisar Khanani

Cover Designer: Jenny Zemanek

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Release Date: May 30, 2016

Publisher: Purple Monkey Press


Link to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17969479-memories-of-ash   

Purchase Links:

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble |  Apple  |  Kobo


Synopsis

In the year since she cast her sunbolt, Hitomi has recovered only a handful of memories. But the truths of the past have a tendency to come calling, and an isolated mountain fastness can offer only so much shelter. When the High Council of Mages summons Brigit Stormwind to stand trial for treason, Hitomi knows her mentor won’t return—not with Arch Mage Blackflame behind the charges.

Armed only with her magic and her wits, Hitomi vows to free her mentor from unjust imprisonment. She must traverse spell-cursed lands and barren deserts, facing powerful ancient enchantments and navigating bitter enmities, as she races to reach the High Council. There, she reunites with old friends, planning a rescue equal parts magic and trickery.

If she succeeds, Hitomi will be hunted the rest of her life. If she fails, she’ll face the ultimate punishment: enslavement to the High Council, her magic slowly drained until she dies.


Excerpts

Before me the water lies smooth, no ripple disturbing its crystalline surface. Upon that polished expanse gleams the spell-cast image of my mother. Dressed in a pale pink kimono embroidered in shades of rose, she kneels before a tea tray, hands on her lap and face raised toward me. I have her eyes, though my skin has the desert tint of my father’s people. Her lips, neither too full nor too thin, grace her face in harmony with the gentle roundness of her cheeks, while my own features remain hollowed by the fire that once consumed me from the inside out. By her very stillness I know she has detected some trace of my spell, the ties of blood and kinship that I have used to seek her out through the shields that surround her.

“Let it go, Hitomi,” Stormwind says gently.

I release the tenuous thread of my casting with unexpected relief. I have attempted this spell half a dozen times now, but not once have I taken it to completion. I could have done it today had I not paused to observe her. The bitterness on my tongue has the singular taste of cowardice to it.

My mother’s image breaks apart, replaced by the faint reflection of trees overhead. I watch the water’s movement over the multi-hued stones covering the lake bottom. In the early morning light, they’re every color of the earth: the burnished yellow of evening sunlight, a dreamlike lavender, grays dark as storm clouds and light as hope, reds both as bright as blood and as dark as death. The colors of life lie beneath the water, calling to me as if I might reach out and recover the memories I lost in ash nearly a year ago.


My Thoughts 

I enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one and definitely recommend it to everyone. This books starts of one year after the first book. The writing in this book was just as amazing as the first one (very detailed) and i love it a lot. The plot was captivating and it had my attention since the very start.

I expected a lot from this book since i enjoyed the first one a lot and i am really glad this book did not disappoint me. I like the addition of new characters and i cannot wait to read more in the future.

Overall, a really good book and definitely will recommend it to everyone.

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ / 4 hearts

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:

sunbolt_coverFNLE2

The winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame.

When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18075001-sunbolt

 

About The Author:

Intisar Khanani

The winding streets and narrow alleys of Karolene hide many secrets, and Hitomi is one of them. Orphaned at a young age, Hitomi has learned to hide her magical aptitude and who her parents really were. Most of all, she must conceal her role in the Shadow League, an underground movement working to undermine the powerful and corrupt Arch Mage Wilhelm Blackflame.

When the League gets word that Blackflame intends to detain—and execute—a leading political family, Hitomi volunteers to help the family escape. But there are more secrets at play than Hitomi’s, and much worse fates than execution. When Hitomi finds herself captured along with her charges, it will take everything she can summon to escape with her life.

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18075001-sunbolt

Website | Goodreads | Facebook Twitter

 

 

One thought on “Blog Tour: Memories of Ash

  1. Intisar Khanani says:

    Thanks so much for your review of Memories of Ash–and I’m so glad you enjoyed it even more than Sunbolt! 🙂 It’s always nerve-wracking putting out a book and wondering if it’s quite as good as the last one. I’m thrilled that you were happy with it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

